News   Apr 03, 2020
 4.6K     1 
News   Apr 02, 2020
 6.5K     3 
News   Apr 02, 2020
 3.7K     0 

Calgary's Homeless

Unfortunately stiffer jail times for dealers won't help. IMO they should give out stiffer sentences, as these people are knowingly helping to ruin others, but it still won't solve the issue. Drugs continue to be sold in countries where people are put to death for trafficking. They really need to address the issue of addiction and how people get on them in the first place.

I’m by no means an expert on this, so I’m sure some of this is naive or has already been tried, but my suggestions:

1) In the short term, I think we need 90s Giuliani-style NYC clean up/enforcement that takes back the streets, to show everyone that rule of law still applies and that we’re not ok with turning into Vancouver/Portland. No handing out drug paraphernalia, allowing open drug-use in the streets, no tent cities of any kind, and no letting thieves commit crime over and over without legal consequences. The emphasis needs to be on public safety and rule of law. If this means more cops on the streets and more people in jail, so be it.... we need to start prioritizing law-abiding citizens and businesses, not junkies and dealers. Obviously there is a cost to this, but I think we’re at the stage where we need it.