News   Apr 02, 2020
 6.5K     3 
News   Apr 02, 2020
 3.7K     0 

Calgary craft beer scene

Zoom

Member Bio
Reaction score
A discussion for Calgary’s local beer scene. I’m not an expert at Craft beer or microbreweries, but would like to get more into that kind of thing.
Also my brother-in-law is moving here from Hamilton and he’s big on craft beer. He’s already been asking me about Calgary’s local scene.

Any advice on which places are the best?

Calgary probably has one of the best craft beer scenes in the country.

My personal favorites are The Establishment and Cabin Brewing.

Other good ones are Dandy, Outcast, Citizen, Last Best, 88, and Fahr!

Establishment without a doubt is a must (all their imperial batches are amazing). Annex right next door is also a good spot to stop by because they have lil empire inside and the food pairs perfectly well with almost any beer they have.
Inglewood is great for brewery hopping on foot (Cold Garden, O'l Beautiful, Highline, Revival, Dandy)

88 and Cabin have good beer and very chill vibes. Two pillar on centre street brews very small batch beer and they have dunkelweizen and other saisons which are a rare in Calgary.

Cold Garden is my personal favourite because of its location in Inglewood, because it has a beer on tap for everyone, it has cheap pints, and because it’s always a good vibe. Plus they let you bring in food. I’m a fan of the “This Must be the IPA” and “Cakeface”.

Ol’ beautiful next door is pretty good too, and has lots of outdoor seating in the summer. It also has some pretty delicious Mexican food (A1 Burrito). I think “Brass Monkey” would be my favourite of their beers.

I like Annex because it has one of the best burgers I’ve had in the city (Lil’ Empire Burger). I really like their “Force Majeure” NEIPA. It’s next door to Establishment which is also great (I haven’t drank enough beer here to pick a favourite).